First Refashions

I was incredibly inspired by Elizabeth Cline’s book Overdressed: The Shockingly High Cost of Cheap Fashion and as a consequence I have spent many hours looking through the Refashionista blog, daydreaming about creating my own beautiful, eco-friendly (and sweat-shop-free) refashions. I’ll admit some of my work has been more attempted tailoring than true refashioning, but I think I still captured the basic premise of the “reuse, don’t buy new” philosophy. So here are a few first attempts, in all their mirror-pic, no-make up, messy hair glory.

I started with a simple too-big-to-my-size dress refashion. I was originally drawn to it because of the subtle grey print and the pintuck detail at the neckline. It was fairly simple to take the dress in about 4 inches on each side and rip out all the ugly green bits.

01bd827b4765d83cff42e294ab2674278cf31d6dbe
I’m pretty sure this was intended as a nightgown…

Then I moved on to a faux-wrap top that actually fit quite well. I was originally planning to wear it as-is, but my boyfriend said it looked like the top half of a bath robe (you can’t un-see that), so I carefully ripped the sleeves off and shortened them, preserving the lovely ribbon detail at the bottom. I used the original sleeve top (what is the technical word for that?) as a template when I cut the shorter sleeves, and then inserted them like the usual set-in sleeve.

Much more summer weather appropriate!
Much more summer weather appropriate!

Finally, I did some work on a nightgown. It was a tags-still-attached Victoria’s Secret brand slip.

01af73caa56ef047c14c9262a45c7553d7b94e0c89

It was probably donated due to the bizarre boob shaping pictured below (I promise this is PG, I put another modest bra under it):

014c2ad431985f4fbb8bbe606bbae8feb38e63b9a0_00001
See how it sticks out all funny?

I simply sewed that odd seam into a straight line instead, and the slip turned into the perfect nightgown!

01162871e3ff6ddbb477c95cce78abc985eaeac0242
So much better!

All three pieces cost only $1.50. I think I might be hooked on thrifting!

Leave a Reply

